我们的使命

我们的使命

Fosterful是一个非营利组织,是一个由合格的志愿者与社会工作者和寄养者合作的社区,为经历寄养的儿童提供一个培养环境和一个关爱的伴侣。

我们的志愿者通过高质量的儿童护理--在寄养家庭和儿童福利办公室,让孩子们有时间和安全,在最需要的时候充当关爱的伙伴和助手。 

我们为照护者(包括寄养照护者和亲属照护者)和社会工作者提供空间、支持和安心,让他们能够履行重要职责,喘口气。

我们填饱小肚子,在有泪水的地方带来纸巾,并把毛绒玩具放在面临经历寄养系统所带来的困难的孩子们的怀里。

我们的愿景

我们的愿景

Fosterful的愿景是在整个华盛顿州和爱达荷州建立和维持各种努力,让经历寄养的儿童和家庭通过高质量的儿童护理和有形的资源获得他们非常需要的支持。 

我们的梦想是,在深思熟虑和可持续发展的同时,在所有50个州建立业务。


我们的价值观

我们的价值观

我们重视儿童。我们重视社区为他们的利益进行合作。我们重视对寄养的认识。我们认为尽量减少创伤是关键,因此我们的目标是满足我们所服务的弱势儿童和家庭的直接需求。我们相信关系,并寻求通过与我们的志愿者、社会工作者、护理人员、合作伙伴和捐助者之间有目的的透明度来管理这些关系。我们重视使我们每个人成为独特个体的差异,并寻求为所有志愿者、工作人员和我们的服务对象维持一个尊重和包容的环境。

我们的历史

2013年,联合创始人萨拉-德贾尔斯(Sarah Desjarlais)是一位养父母,在华盛顿州温哥华的儿童福利办公室参加会议。在那次会议上,她看到一个小男孩独自坐在会议室里--他的饭菜和玩具都没动过。从各种意义上讲,他都是孤独的。他的社会工作者坐在大厅对面,疯狂地打着电话,试图找到一个他可以称之为家的地方。她突然想到,要做到一个社会工作者所需要的一切--给一个刚刚经历过创伤的孩子以他们所需要的关注和安慰,这一定很困难。随后,她与CPS主管金-卡鲁(Kim Karu)进行了一次谈话,这两个女人利用母亲的直觉和社会工作者的知识,成立了当时的 "办公室妈妈和爸爸 "组织。

在整个大流行病期间,由于儿童福利办公室仍然关闭,接收人数减少,我们的志愿者们团结一致,支持当地寄养社区。他们为寄养儿童和他们的家庭提供膳食、远程学习用品、新衣服、节日礼物等。资助者们站了出来,我们也忙着培训更多的志愿者,以应对即将到来的需求浪潮。 

2020年,我们加入了关于系统性种族主义的全国性对话,因为有色人种的儿童在寄养机构中的比例一直很高,而且继续如此。当我们与部落领袖以及黑人和西班牙裔社区团体成员会面,听取他们对如何成为一个更具包容性的组织的想法时,一个共同的话题是我们作为办公室 "妈妈和爸爸 "的称号。对许多孩子来说,"妈妈 "或 "爸爸 "的称号只保留给两个人。他们做了什么并不重要--孩子们总是会在某种程度上爱他们的父母。我们必须尊重这种家庭文化。我们不得不改变我们的名字。

我们相信,"Fosterful "突出了一个事实,即我们已经不仅仅是关爱的伙伴。通过创伤知情护理实践,我们为进入寄养家庭的孩子们提供养育环境和基本必需品。虽然这些事情永远是我们工作的核心,但我们现在有空间成长为一个由内而外改变系统的运动。

从一个儿童福利办公室的五名志愿者开始,已经发展到华盛顿州和爱达荷州的近400名志愿者(并在不断增加)。

认识董事会

Dawn Redmond

Dawn Redmond

董事会主席

Zach Desjarlais

Zach Desjarlais

董事会副主席

特雷西-伍兹

特雷西-伍兹

董事会秘书

Kamron Miller

Kamron Miller

董事会财务主管

纳塔利娅-马修斯博士

纳塔利娅-马修斯博士

董事会成员

达拉-亚历山大

达拉-亚历山大

董事会成员

Mike Lee

Mike Lee

董事会成员

认识我们的团队

萨拉-德雅拉(Sarah Desjarlais

萨拉-德雅拉(Sarah Desjarlais

执行董事

萨拉-科普斯

萨拉-科普斯

项目经理

林赛-摩根

林赛-摩根

爱达荷州第一和第二区区域经理

艾米丽-克鲁兹

艾米丽-克鲁兹

补助金和营销人员

Cyndi Lea

Cyndi Lea

行政专家

鲍勃-诺伊鲍尔

鲍勃-诺伊鲍尔

慈善事业主任

格伦-德顿

格伦-德顿

捐助采购

Brigida Diggs

Brigida Diggs

捐赠协调员

什么和原因

什么

Fosterful是一个非营利性的501(c)3组织,于2013年在美国华盛顿州的温哥华成立。Fosterful在整个华盛顿州和爱达荷州部署了合格的志愿者,他们与正在经历寄养的儿童坐在一起,并为他们提供娱乐,这些儿童往往经历了难以言表的创伤。我们的志愿者在当地的儿童福利办公室随叫随到,并在指定的寄养家庭中服务,努力使儿童、照顾者和社会工作者的日子过得更好一点。

为什么

经历过寄养制度的儿童往往会陷入无助的境地--无论是在儿童福利办公室等待长期安置,还是辗转于不同的照顾者之间。这种未知的空间可能是孩子一生中最恐惧、最不确定的时期之一。在这段时间里,有一个可以帮助这些孩子减轻心理创伤。我们的志愿者可以帮助减轻社工和保育员的压力,照顾孩子的即时需要,并以实际行动为寄养社区服务。

主要赞助商

Fosterful是由慈善事业资助的。我们依靠我们所服务社区的个人、公司和慈善基金会的慷慨支持。特别感谢这些为Fosterful的可持续发展做出重大贡献的基金会,以及我们主要筹款活动的赞助商。

基金会

演讲赞助商

Our mission

Our mission

Fosterful, a nonprofit organization, is a community of qualified volunteers partnering with Social Workers and Foster Caregivers to provide a nurturing environment and a caring companion to children experiencing foster care.

Our volunteers keep children occupied and safe, acting as caring companions and sidekicks when it's needed most, through quality child care - both in the foster home and in the child welfare office. 

We give Caregivers (both Foster and Kinship) and Social Workers the space, support, and peace of mind to take care of important responsibilities and take a breath.

We fill little bellies, bring tissues where there are tears, and put stuffies in the arms of kiddos facing the hardships that come with experiencing the foster care system.

Our vision

Our vision

Fosterful’s vision is to establish and sustain efforts throughout Washington and Idaho where children and families experiencing foster care have the support they greatly need through quality child care and tangible resources. 

Our dream, while growing thoughtfully and sustainably, is to establish a presence in all 50 states.


Our values

Our values

We value children. We value communities collaborating on their behalf. We value awareness about foster care. We think that minimizing trauma is key, and so we aim to meet the immediate needs of the vulnerable children and families we serve. We believe in relationships and seek to steward those through purposeful transparency with our volunteers, social workers, caregivers, partners, and donors. We value the differences that make each of us unique individuals and seek to maintain a respectful and inclusive environment for all volunteers, staff, and the people we serve.

Our history

In 2013, co-founder Sarah Desjarlais was a foster parent attending a meeting at the child welfare office in Vancouver, Washington. During that meeting, she saw a little boy sitting alone in a conference room – his meal and toys sitting untouched. He was alone, in every sense of the word. His social worker sat across the hall, feverishly working the phone, trying to find a place he could call home. It occurred to her how hard it must be to do everything required of a social worker - and give a child who has just endured trauma the attention and comfort they need. A conversation with CPS supervisor Kim Karu followed, and the two women founded what was then known as Office Moms & Dads - using a mother's intuition and a social worker's know-how.

Throughout the pandemic, as child welfare offices remained shuttered and intake numbers went down, our volunteers rallied to support local foster care communities. They provided meals, remote learning supplies, boxes of new clothing, Holiday gifts, and more to kids in care and their families. Funders stepped up, and we got busy training more volunteers to answer the tidal wave of needs that would come. 

In 2020 we joined the national conversation about systemic racism, because children of color have been, and continue to be, overrepresented in foster care. As we met with tribal leaders and members of Black and Hispanic community groups to hear their thoughts on how to become a more inclusive organization, a common topic of conversation was the title we had given ourselves as Office "Moms and Dads". For many children, the title of ‘Mom’ or ‘Dad’ is reserved for two people alone. It doesn’t matter what they did - kids will always love their parents on some level. We had to honor that family culture. We had to change our name.

We believe that 'Fosterful' highlights the fact that we have become more than just caring companions. Through trauma-informed care practices, we provide nurturing environments and basic necessities to kids entering foster care. While those things will always be the heartbeat of what we do, we now have room to grow into a MOVEMENT for changing the System from the inside out.

What started with five volunteers in one child welfare office, has grown to nearly 400 volunteers (and counting) across Washington and Idaho.

Meet the board

Dawn Redmond

Dawn Redmond

Board President

Zach Desjarlais

Zach Desjarlais

Board Vice President

Tracy Woods

Tracy Woods

Board Secretary

Kamron Miller

Kamron Miller

Board Treasurer

Darcy Blankenship

Darcy Blankenship

Board Member

Dr. Natalia Mathews

Dr. Natalia Mathews

Board Member

Dara Alexander

Dara Alexander

Board Member

Meet the team

Sarah Desjarlais

Sarah Desjarlais

Executive Director

Sarah Copes

Sarah Copes

Operations Manager

Lindsay Morgan

Lindsay Morgan

Regional Manager, Region 1 & 2, Idaho

Chanell Gore

Chanell Gore

Development Director

Emily Cruz

Emily Cruz

Grants and Marketing Human

Annie Banceu

Annie Banceu

Volunteer Coordinator

Cyndi Lea

Cyndi Lea

Office Manager

Bob Neubauer

Bob Neubauer

Director of Philanthropy

Glenn Durden

Glenn Durden

Donations Procurement

Brigida Diggs

Brigida Diggs

Donations Coordinator

What & why

The what

Fosterful is a nonprofit 501(c)3 organization founded in Vancouver, Washington (USA) in 2013. Fosterful deploys qualified volunteers throughout Washington and Idaho who sit with and entertain children who are experiencing foster care - often, children who have undergone unspeakable trauma. Our volunteers serve in their local child welfare office on an on-call basis, as well as within foster homes as assigned, and strive to make the day just a little bit better for children, caregivers, and social workers.

The why

Children experiencing the foster care system are often caught in limbo - whether it’s waiting at the child welfare office for a long-term placement or being shuffled around from caregiver to caregiver. This space of unknowing can be one of the most frightening and uncertain times in a child’s life. Having a person during this time can help ease the trauma these kiddos experience. Our volunteers help alleviate stress on Social Workers and Caregivers, caring for the child’s immediate needs, and serving the foster care community in a tangible way.

Major sponsors

Fosterful is funded by philanthropy. We depend on the generous support of individuals, corporations, and charitable foundations in the communities we serve. Special thanks to these Foundations who have made significant contributions toward the sustainability of Fosterful, and to these presenting sponsors of our major fundraising events.

Foundations

Presenting Sponsors